COMING OUT JUNE 8TH: A Broken People’s Playlist by Chimeka Garricks


Chimeka Garricks, author of the highly acclaimed novel “Tomorrow Died Yesterday” is coming out soon with his new new Collection of Short Stories titled, “A Broken People’s Playlist”.

Chimeka Garricks was born in Dublin, Ireland, in 1975, and was raised in Port Harcourt, Nigeria. He has an LL.B. from the Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt, Nigeria; and an LL.M. in International Commercial Law, from the Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen, Scotland. Chimeka considers himself more of a storyteller than a writer. He lives in Lagos, Nigeria, with his wife, Biyai and their three children. Tomorrow Died Yesterday is his first novel.




The Book: A Broken People’s Playlist is a collection of short stories inspired by songs where each story gets it’s title from a song. It has a “Track list” instead of chapters and the stories are as real and sweet as the songs that inspired them. Check out the “Track List” below:

  1. ‘Lost Stars’, Adam Levine
  2. ‘Music’, Erick Sermon & Marvin Gaye
  3. ‘Hurt’, Johnny Cash
  4. ‘Song For Someone’, U2
  5. ‘In The City’, Brymo
  6. ‘I Put A Spell On You’, Nina Simone
  7. ‘I’d Die Without You’, P. M. Dawn
  8. ‘Beautiful War’, Kings Of Leon
  9. ‘River’, Leon Bridges
  10. ‘Love’s Divine’, Seal
  11. ‘Desperado’, Eagles
  12. ‘You Suppose Know’, Bez Ft. Yemi Alade

All these songs, magically spun into stories will make you laugh, cry and pick a side. A few of these stories have been previously published online and you can wet your appetite with ‘I Put a Spell On You’ by clicking on the link below…

This book promises us lots of beautiful tales filled with love, laughter and tears. Be one of the first to own and read one of the best Short Stories Collections yet as you can pre-order HERE

Chimeka Garricks was recently the final guest at Afrolit Sans Frontières Season 3 streaming on Instagram from Lagos, Nigeria on June 1, 2020. He was hosted by Zukiswa Wanner. You can watch this interview where he spoke about his upcoming book via this link

Expected Publication Date: June 8, 2020 By Masobebooks

Genre: Short Stories

Purchase @



Copyright © Biyai Garricks
Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Biyai Garricks, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s