Category: Book Review

Book Review: An Enemy Called Average by John Mason

“You can’t fulfil your destiny on a theory, it takes work” Listening to this audio book is an experience I can only express by saying I would definitely read this book again in the near future. It was also quick as it only takes…

Book Review: Risen – The Novelization of the Major Motion Picture by Angela Hunt

“Love, Clavius. I loved you enough to present my blood as your sin offering. Enough to give my life as your peace offering. forgiveness is yours, if only you will accept it”. “It can not be that simple”, I argued. Even the Jews know…

Book Review: International Sisi Eko and Other Stories Edited by Hope Eghagha & Karen King-Aribisala

“The boy is now too tired to move, so he lies on the ground almost motionless. She feels like she’s in a dream. These people can’t possibly burn a little child in broad daylight because of groundnuts. A Tyre materializes from nowhere. Bring petrol!…

Book Review: The Secret Child by Kerry Fisher

My third Kerry Fisher book and I can’t get enough of her. This story was captivating from the first page……… “Six weeks. That’s all I had with you. Forty-two days. Time we throw away carelessly, wishing the days away, to Christmas, to a holiday,…

Book Review: The Not So Perfect Mother by Kerry Fisher

Kerry Fisher is the new author I have been looking for……. After reading ‘The Silent Wife” a few months ago, I have plunged into buying her books with reckless abandon and with no regrets. Maia’s story is the story of a modern day Cinderella…

Book Review: My Sister The Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

My Sister The serial Killer was a quick, fun, read packed with dark humor. A story about two sisters raised by the same parents who suffered abuse from their father but turned out to have personalities as different as the way they looked. Ayoola,…

Book Review: Mannequin by Wakeni Mac’Odo-McCarthy

Published: 2018 by University Press Plc Pages: 74 Genre: fiction Purchase @ http://www.fb.me/Mannequin.novel Publisher’s Blurb: Mannequin is situated in the modern day oil-rich city of Port Harcourt, Nigeria, where a small percentage of the population live in affluence. The story tells of the subtle…

Book Review: The Book Of Memory by Petina Gappah

Published: February 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux Pages: 288 Genre: Fiction Purchase on http://www.amazon.com Publisher’s Blurb: Memory is an albino woman languishing in Chikurubi Maximum Security Prison in Harare, Zimbabwe, where she has been convicted of murder. As part of her appeal, her…

Book Review: Once Upon a First Love by Tope Omotosho

Published: August 2018 Pages: 268 Genre: Christian Fiction Purchase on http://www.okadabooks.com; http://www.amazon.com Publisher’s blurb: Sometimes first loves don’t turn out the way you plan them to. . .Beautiful, strong and confident, Peju Adams has always been a woman who knows what she wants. When…

Book Review: Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

nPublished:  June, 2017 by Ballentine Books Pages: 342 pages Genre: Historical Fiction Purchase on http://www.amazon.com Publisher’s blurb: For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious…