Category: Book Review

Book Review: Mannequin by Wakeni Mac’Odo-McCarthy

Published: 2018 by University Press Plc Pages: 74 Genre: fiction Purchase @ http://www.fb.me/Mannequin.novel Publisher’s Blurb: Mannequin is situated in the modern day oil-rich city of Port Harcourt, Nigeria, where a small percentage of the population live in affluence. The story tells of the subtle…

Book Review: The Book Of Memory by Petina Gappah

Published: February 2016 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux Pages: 288 Genre: Fiction Purchase on http://www.amazon.com Publisher’s Blurb: Memory is an albino woman languishing in Chikurubi Maximum Security Prison in Harare, Zimbabwe, where she has been convicted of murder. As part of her appeal, her…

Book Review: Once Upon a First Love by Tope Omotosho

Published: August 2018 Pages: 268 Genre: Christian Fiction Purchase on http://www.okadabooks.com; http://www.amazon.com Publisher’s blurb: Sometimes first loves don’t turn out the way you plan them to. . .Beautiful, strong and confident, Peju Adams has always been a woman who knows what she wants. When…

Book Review: Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

nPublished:  June, 2017 by Ballentine Books Pages: 342 pages Genre: Historical Fiction Purchase on http://www.amazon.com Publisher’s blurb: For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious…

Book Review: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz

Published: September 2007 by Riverhead books Pages: 335 Genre: Fiction Purchase on http://www.amazon.com Publisher’s blurb: Things have never been easy for Oscar, a sweet but disastrously overweight, lovesick Dominican ghetto nerd. From his home in New Jersey, where he lives with his old-world mother and…

Book Review: Let Not Your Heart Be Troubled by Keith & Jake Provance

Published: November, 2017 by Word & Spirit Resources, LLC Pages: 80 Genre: Christian Purchase @ amazon.com Publisher’s Blurb: Written to offer hope, encouragement, and strength to a world that is under constant assault. Chapters are formatted topically to deal with issues such as loss, discouragement,…

Book Review: The Silent Wife by Kerry Fisher

Published: February, 2017 by Bookouture Pages: 345 pages Genre: Fiction Purchase on http://www.amazon.com Publishers Blurb: Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else…

Book Review: Born a Crime by Trevor Noah

Published: 2016 by Doubleday Canada Pages: 304 Genre: Non-Fiction (Autobiography) Date Read: August 21-22, 2018 Purchase on http://www.amazon.com; http://www.rhbooks.com.ng Publisher’s Blurb: Trevor Noah’s unlikely path from apartheid South Africa to the desk of The Daily Show began with a criminal act: his birth. Trevor…

Book Review: The Wise Woman by Philippa Gregory

Published: May 27th, 2008 by Touchstone Pages: 520 Genre: Historical Fiction Purchase on http://www.amazon.com Publisher’s Blurb: Growing up as an abandoned outcast on the moors, young Alys’ only company is her cruel foster mother, Morach, the local wise woman who is whispered to practice the…

Book Review: China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan

Published: May 2016 by Anchor Pages:496 Genre: Fiction Purchase @ http://www.amazon.com Publisher’s Blurb: It’s the eve of Rachel Chu’s wedding, and she should be over the moon. She has a flawless Asscher-cut diamond, a wedding dress she loves, and a fiancé willing to thwart his…